Pottery Lessons – Cat Food and Water Bowls | Clay

How to make simple food and water bowls for your pet – with a twist.

My mum has a big fluffy Maine Coon called NikNak. She is glorious and actually pretty dangerous if your hands are near by or if you are a rat.

Nik Nak the Maine Coon Kitty Cat
NikNak the Maine Coon Kitty Cat – Look at that floof would ya!

Anyhoo, I wanted to make new ceramic cat food and water bowls for my mum’s cat.

Ceramic food and water bowl made for cats
Ceramic cat bowls

How to make clay bowls

I made the two little dishes the same way I made my oval Roasting Dish and Salt Flake Pot using the slab method. I rolled out the clay, cut it so shape and attached walls using the score and skip method.

How to make Ceramic Pet Bowls
Ceramic Pet Bowls

How to make clay figurines

To be honest, to make the clay fish and mouse for the cat bowl I just made it up as I went along. Ha ha. Here’s some images of the process (sadly my phone died whilst I was making the mouse).

How to mold a ceramic Koi
The clay fish once the fins had been attached. I was aiming for it to look like a koi
How to make clay fish and mouse for ceramic pet bowls
Clay Fish and Mouse for Ceramic pet bowls
How to make a ceramic water bowl with koi for your pet cat
Ceramic water bowl with koi for your pet cat
How to make a ceramic food bowl with a mouse for your pet cat
Ceramic food bowl with a mouse for your pet cat

 

These bowls will first need to be fired before I can paint them. I will post the final photos when they are completed.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

