Pottery Lessons – Pyramid Candle Lanterns | Clay

Using a clay slab to create pyramid tea light candle lanterns.

This week in pottery classes I decided to made tea light lanterns. I decided to use a slab of clay to create pyramids which I would then make holes in for the light to shine through.

Ceramic pyramid tea light lanterns.
Two out of the three pyramid tea light lanterns.

I found these incredibly easy to make so, I made three of varying size. The hardest part was finding clay that was dry enough to work with. To make the pyramids I just made a triangle template from newspaper, cut out three triangles, and then just joined the edges together using the score and slip method. I just used a skewer to make holes.

I then also decided to make bases for my pyramid lanterns to hold the tea light candles.

Clay pyramid lantern base for tea light candles.
Clay pyramid lantern base for tea light candles.

They’re now ready for bisque firing.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

